As Official As It’s Gonna Get

The weird thing about getting an offer on your house is that it seems like that is the point where is should be official and done. But the reality is that the offer is just the beginning of a whole new process in house selling. Yep, there is another 10 to 18 period after the offer where the deal could basically crumble in your hands. Just when you think you are done waiting (“Yay! We got an offer!”); there is a whole other period of waiting you have to do (“Oh no! We have to have an inspection and negotiate repairs!”).

The past three weeks have the most tumultuous part of our home selling process thus far. Waiting for them to actually schedule an inspection. Waiting for them to respond to use with their list of repairs. It doesn’t help that our buyers waited–literally–until the very last minute of their 10 day response period to send us the repair list. It also didn’t help that they were asking for crazy repairs. I won’t go into details, and I know you’re probably thinking “That’s what every seller says about repair lists!” But trust me, these were crazy demands. So then we had another few days of calling in experts and getting second and third opinions before sending our own response and then–yup, you guessed it–waiting for them to respond to our response.

Home selling truly is just a big game of wait and see. But thankfully, now the inspection is done, and repairs have been negotiated. For us, this is the last big piece of the puzzle. As long as the appraisal report comes back okay, we’re home free. Or maybe I should say home less?

I feel that a huge weight has been lifted from my shoulders. It’s amazing to not have to worry or even think about all those things anymore. It’s like this part of the process has been tied up with a nice little bow. I like little bows. It’s like getting a gift to my mental stability and sanity.

Ah, sweet, sweet relief.

I should also say though, that at the same time, this is all incredibly unreal. I barely believe this is happening to us. And I don’t think I really will believe it until it is over. Maybe the reality will sink in once we find a new place to live. Maybe it will sink in when we’re moving. Maybe it will sink in when we sign the papers and hand over the keys. Right now, it sort of feels like a dream.

That’s probably because it is our dream, or at least, it’s a part of our process of getting closer and closer to our dreams. Yes, I’m going to miss our sweet little house, but that is another post for another day and time. For right now, I have to say that I’m incredibly thankful. It’s hard to process change, that’s for sure. But I am thankful it is happening to us. I am so happy that we get to move closer to our goal of living a life less focused on consumption.

The future is so very exciting. I can’t wait to explore it.

2 thoughts on “As Official As It’s Gonna Get

  1. Congratulations, Abby! Here’s hoping the rest of the process goes smoothly and you find a next home that fits what you’re looking for!

Comment on this post.

