Saying Goodbye to Summer

Arkansas has had a nice, mild summer this year (knock on wood). If you’ve been wondering where I’ve been, my only answer is enjoying the summer. It’s my favorite season of all, and I have a hard time staying indoors and even writing when there is so much life and excitement going on outside. Between keeping our house clean for showings, traveling all over the state and into Missouri to play on various lakes, and celebrating my 26th birthday, this summer has been nothing short of spectacular.

Lake Greeson Sunset

This is just one of the many beautiful lake views I got to enjoy this summer. You can’t ask for much more when it comes to summer in Arkansas than good company, a scenic lake, and a cold drink.

But the summer season is already starting to wind down, I can feel my focus slowly shifting from “relax and enjoy the day” to “get yourself ready for school!”. Wait a second, Abby, you may be thinking, I thought you were done with school. Well, you would be right. I’m done being a student in school. But this semester marks a new chapter in my career–I’m officially a college professor. I’ll be teaching two sections of Composition I at a local community college. To say I’m excited is definitely an understatement. I’m absolutely thrilled, and I cannot wait to start teaching. I’m also a little bit nervous and whole lot of busy. Making up assignments and planning lectures and figuring out what I’m going to wear have occupied most of my thoughts recently.

And then, of course, there is this other thing. Remember this place? And how we are selling it to embark on a new, mortgage-debt-free life?

House for sale (2)

Well, here’s the thing.

We got an offer! And we negotiated! And we accepted! And we’re moving out and moving on. In fact, we’re closing in early September. So yes, you guessed it, August is going to be filled with all the craziness that comes along with inspections and appraisals and finding a rental and packing and moving and finally (if everything goes as planned) handing over our keys.

We are completely beyond excited and constantly having to remind ourselves that it actually, finally happened. Someone please pinch me.

So, I’m saying my goodbyes to summer, gearing up for the fall, and letting all these big life changes sink right on in. It is going to be a wild ride.

How have you been?

5 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye to Summer

  1. good luck with your happiness project too. part of my happiness project journey is to one day travel from australia to arkansas to meet with one of your local artists Karrie Evenson, who i have been corresponding with for a couple of years. Who knows one day i might be able to say hi to you too. feel free to have a look at my happiness project journey too. regards caroline

    • Thank you Caroline! That sounds like a good goal to have. I love living in Arkansas because it is such a beautiful place. I’m sure Australia is amazing too! Thanks for visiting and best wishes to you!

Comment on this post.

