Happy Food Project Check In

I would like to say thanks to everyone for your comments and views of my last post about my weight loss journey. I’ve been waiting for a while to share that story, and I’m glad everyone liked it. Also, that was the biggest day for my blog; I had the most views ever!

——-

It’s been about two weeks since I resolved to focus more on food, so I figured it was time to check-in. So far, I’ve established that food makes me happy (beans make me toot) and food tastes better when you share it with people you love.

I just wanted to share a few more things that I’ve figured out over the past couple of weeks, in no particular order:

Don’t make cooking complicated. For the first week of this project, I wanted to try to have a fresh fruit smoothie every morning for breakfast. Obviously, they were delicious and nutritious. But I found it to be an absolute pain to get my Ninja blender parts out, measure all the ingredients, make the smoothie, clean the blender, and put everything away all before work. It was not fun, and I got tired of doing it pretty quickly.

Make food that suits your lifestyle. The smoothie idea made me realize that in the early morning, I just don’t have time for all that work. I have time for GF toast with almond butter and sugar-free jam, and almond milk. However, I do have time to put a little more effort into dinners, which can then be turned into leftovers for yummy lunches. Convenient, easy foods are a necessity for me, so I’ve tried to find healthy snacks and breakfasts–mostly fruits and nuts–and things that cook quickly.

Cooking can be fun. I’m planning a whole post on this later. For all of you folks who might not enjoy being in the kitchen, I’m here to say that it is possible to have fun cooking. IF you play to your strengths in the kitchen and try not to be too ambitious about what you make.

Popcorn is really good. Not the kind in the bag–real popcorn. I buy the big bag of kernels for $1.50 and cook them on the stove with some canola oil and salt. It seems like a pain to do all that work, but it tastes SO GOOD. Unlike the smoothie experiment, I feel like popcorn is totally worth the effort.

Go out to eat if you want. I think that eating out gets a bad rap in the diet world sometimes. One of the first things I thought about when I decided to eat healthier for happiness was that I would have to stop going out to eat so much. But I didn’t practice that very well because I really like going out to eat. I like not having to cook or clean and just being able to enjoy good company and good food. Eating healthy doesn’t mean you can’t go out to eat. You just have to be careful that you make healthy choices and don’t totally overeat.

The husband and I have actually developed a new habit. We go out to eat once a week, usually on Friday after work. Afterwards, we do our weekly grocery shopping, then go home and watch something on TV until bedtime. It’s nice and relaxing because we get to catch up on our week and spend quality time together.

Anywho, those are my thoughts about food and happiness over the past two and a half-ish weeks. Yes, I am happier!

It is actually a relief for me to have some food-related guidelines. It makes the whole process of cooking and shopping much less stressful if I know what types of foods to focus on when I’m coming up with meals.
I’ve also had the chance to make some new meals from my Pinterest board. They ended up being delicious, so if you are looking for something new to make, check them out!

How is your week going? Have you eaten anything yummy or been made happy by good food? What kinds of happy things are you exploring? Any ideas for things you want me to explore? Let me know if the comments! Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Happy Food Project Check In

  1. I made sushi for the first time this week. I did not follow any recipe, as usual, so it was pretty meh. It didn’t taste bad, but it didn’t soothe my sushi craving either. I used cucumbers, avocados, and yellow bell peppers. It was fun to make, though! The sticky rice can be a little messy, but otherwise you just have to slice veggies.

    • I love making sushi, but it took a couple of rolls before I could figure out the right flavor. My favorite homemade combo is smoked salmon, cucumber, and red bell pepper. Avocado is good in there, too! Of course…avocado is good in everything. Oh! Tonight I’m trying homemade refried beans based on your suggestion. I hope it goes well!

Comment on this post.

